Kassandra Kush

Introducing Jennifer from Sweet Yet Naughty Book Blog

Posted on: November 22, 2013

1. Tell us a little about yourself! 
My name is Jennifer. I live in Louisville, KY. I have been happily married for 11 years. I have two sons, Matthew and Bryce. And in December I will be 32 years old! I don’t feel that old though. I seriously feel like I should still be in my 20’s!
2. What inspired you/caused you to start your book blog? 
I originally started out helping a friend with her blog. And once I started putting together an author event I eventually stepped down and created my own blog so that I could ultimately try to read/review at least one book from each of the 40 authors that will be at the Louisville Authors Event in April 2014. 
3. What is your favorite part of running one? 
I love being able to share all of the great books that I’ve read! I was in a book store the other day and this teenager was in the young adult section trying to figure out what she wanted to buy next. I told her at least 10 books she needed to read! And she was so thankful!
4. What’s your favorite place and time to read? At home in bed at 2am? Out and about at a coffee shop?
The only time I usually do get to read is during lunch at work, but there are quiet moments when the kids have been tucked into bed, hubby is watching TV, and I get to just curl up in the chair in the living room with a pillow in my lap and my kindle on top. And I’ll read for a couple hours. Sometimes coming to bed way after my husband has already fallen asleep.
5. Kindle or regular book? How did you feel about the Kindle to book transition? Did you fight it at first or dive right in? 
I do love the feel of a real book in my hands, but I love my kindle because it fits in my purse and goes everywhere with me! I have a whole library on there just waiting for me! If I finish one book, then I don’t have to carry a second with me. I can just pull up the next book on my kindle.
6. Favorite book of all time? 
That’s like telling me to pick favorites between my two sons. I don’t think I have an absolute favorite, though I will name a few of them for you. One of my favorite series is the Kushiel’s Legacy by Jacqueline Carey. I loved the world she created. And two of my favorite indie authors are Jasinda Wilder and Abbi Glines. They both have a way with words!
7. Coolest author you ever got to meet/work with? 
I’m going to have to pick more than one now. JD Rivera has been an inspiration to me while trying to figure out NaNoWriMo coming up. And I’m working with two other blogs to host a blog tour for Julie Morgan. That woman cracks me up! 
8. Tell us about the woman (women) behind the mask? Err blog! 
There are only two of us. There is me, Jennifer. Of course I told you all about me in question number one! The other chick that helps me is Wendy. She lives in Louisville as well. She’s happily married with two daughters (Teenagers at that! Pray for her!). She just reviews for me. She loves to read as much as me! The great thing is that we may have the same interest in things, but there are still different types of books that we each prefer. So we can cover a wide range of books between the two of us. 
9. Do you prefer a bunch of quick, sweet stand-alone reads or a long drawn out series of epic proportions? 
I actually prefer a long series. If I invest time with a character I’d like to spend more time with them. I don’t want it drug out with unnecessary info squeezed in between, but if it’s well thought out and the story lines flows then I love it! 
10. Last book you read and how did you rate it?
The last book I read was Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan. I gave it 4 stars! I loved it. It was a very rough love story and I don’t think I’ve ever read the F word so many times! HAHA!
11. Aside from reading, what else do you do with your time? Or, like me, do things book-related pretty much sum up your life?
I love to do digital scrapbooking, which comes in handy with making graphics for things with the blog and authors event (so still book related). I am also the wolf den leader for my youngest son’s cub scout pack. And my husband is the assistant packmaster right now. He will be stepping up as packmaster next year. My oldest son is in boy scouts and I help out the troop a little bit with fundraising and stuff. So I have a pretty packed schedule!
12. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why? 
I would love to travel to Australia or New Zealand. I love their accents for one and it just seems like such an interesting place to visit!
13. If you could meet any author, who would it be? 
I would love to be able to meet Jacqueline Carey. Some of the other authors I love I have already met or will meet in the future at author events. If only Jacqueline Carey were an Indie Author!
14. If you could go on a date with any fictional male character, who would it be, from what book? 
I think I’d like to go on a date with Rush from Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines. 
15. Who is a female character you could see yourself being best friends with?I could see myself being friends with Ariadne from “Of Gaea” by Victoria Escobar!
16. Is there a fiction genre you just can’t seem to stand or get into? For me, heavy science fiction is just a no-go.
Heavy science fiction for me too. I don’t like stories that include outer space, aliens, or space ships. I prefer fantasy if I’m going to go with the unbelievable. 
17. When I say favorite book cover, what’s the first one to come to mind – since I know there probably can’t be just one?
I really like the cover of Crewel by Gennifer Albin. I think it’s beautiful!
18. What was the series in childhood that got you hooked on reading? For me, my mom forced me to read Little House on the Prairie for school which I ended up loving, and then I found the Redwall series and I just never stopped!
I started out with the Babysitter Club books and then moved onto Goosebumps!
19. Were you The Quiet Girl Who Was Always Reading, or did you mainly just read at home in secret? 
I didn’t do a lot of reading in school. I was just considered a “goody goody”. I made good grades, talked a lot though, and was maybe slightly geeky? LOL! When high school rolled around though, it was a different story. I was always reading a romance novel my Junior and Senior year. 
20. Do you always read several books at once, or just stick to one at a time? The running joke in my family when I was young was asking me how many books I was reading (usually at least five) and laughing when I could recite the plot for every single one!
I will usually just reading one book at a time, but there are times when I probably shouldn’t read a certain book at work. So I’ll have one that I’m reading at work and one that I read at home. Though I’ve been known to have as many as three books going at one time.
21. Favorite book to movie adaption?
Would you hate me a little if I said Twilight? HAHA! I liked it except for Kristen Stewart’s “no smiling or emotion” throughout it. I was mad when they didn’t get Eragon right. And Beautiful Creatures just didn’t have the characters I had in mind. If I had to pick one that I thought did the movie justice it would have to be Hunger Games.

GIVEAWAY! ENTER THE RAFFLECOPTER TO WIN THESE PRIZES!

>>>>>>>>  https://www.facebook.com/KassandraKushAuthor?sk=app_228910107186452 <<<<<<<<<<

4 $5 Amazon Gift Cards

Jeni’s Bookshelf, Reviews, Swag & More Bookmark

Can’t Read Just One t-shirt

C.C Hunter Swag Pack

3 $10 Amazon Gift Cards

1 $2.99 E-Book of Choice

1 E-Book of Choice

Dance with Demons & Angels by Natasha Wetzel

The Edge of Darkness by Melissa Andrea

This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Very Bad Things by Ilsa Madden Mills

Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters

2 E-books under $5

Marked Part 1: The Missing Link by J.M Sevilla

Signed paperback of Guardian & Protector

5 e-copies of Guardian and Protector

5 e-copies of Parts 1-3 of The Things We Can’t Change

5 e-copies of The Summer I Gave Up Boys

5 .99cent e-books of choice

4 $1.99 e-books of choice

1 Signed Indie author swag pack

1 e-copy of Knotted Roots Series by Ruthie Kight

1 e-copy of Burn out by Ruthie Kight

 
Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

#squatyourdogchallenge Phineas was not pleased hahah especially with the second set since @ashleyhcarpenter can't work a camera... 😜 #dogsofinstaworld #dogs #dogsofinsta #dogsofinstagram #werk #squat Some days call for a Pug Mug on your lunch break 🐶
-
-
#lunchbreak #writer #pugs #pugmug #authors #amworking #pugsofinsta #dogsofinsta #mugcollection #work

Guardian Blurb

Lyla Evans just wants to be left alone; to fly under the radar and not attract attention. After seventeen years, she knows how the game is played. Her parents are hardly ever home, and when they do show up, they’re quick to anger and even quicker with their fists. With foster care comes the threat of being separated from her two younger siblings, and Lyla would die before allowing that to happen. She’s learned to keep her head down and depend on no one but herself and God to get by.

When a strange man starts paying too much attention to her and her siblings, showing up to rescue them and then disappearing without a trace, Lyla begins to panic that everything she’s been hiding is about to come out. But as she slowly becomes friends with Rafael and even trusts him with her deepest fears, Lyla learns he has secrets far bigger than her own that will turn everything in her world upside down.

In this story of abuse and rescue, love and faith, angels and demons, an unlikely friendship grows into a fantastical love story appealing and appropriate for readers young and old alike.

Categories

Found Between the Covers

All things bookish!

COSBY'S CORNER

Home of Dr. Braxton Cosby A.K.A. "The Fat Doc"

Contemplating Love

My Roaring Twenties

Yamaha RX 100, Yamaha RX 100 History, Reviews

Yamaha RX 100 the legend in Indian roads.Yamaha RX 100 was one of the successors from Yamaha.Yamaha rx100 History, Yamaha rx 100 Reviews, Kerala, India.

UtopYA Con

The Con for Women Writers of YA and the Fans Who Love Them

10mh.net

Ten Million Hardbacks

mancakes..the blog

...SYRUP ON THE SIDE.

kylethegirl

FLUFF TO BUFF

alyshamichelle

Rantings and Ravings

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

The Girls in Plaid Skirts

Bibliophiles and Spies

Pray, Madam, are you a Millennial?

the question, to be sure, was strange

utopYA con

for female writers of paranormal fantasy & the readers who love them

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Diplomatic Dog

Ramblications of a hairy pudding

Backstage Pass

My name is Matt Syverson, and I write rock-n-roll themed novels. I was in a grunge band in Seattle in the 90's. Now I live in Texas. Links to my books are at the bottom of the page. Thanks for visiting!

The Millennium Conjectures™

A Blog of the Ridiculous and Sublime, by Mark Sackler

